CPPCD Awards Descriptions:

Lumen Gentium Award

In recognition of distinguished pastoral leadership in the utilization of planning and broad consultative processes, influencing a significant number of people, structures and programs, and for showing initiative and creativity while raising awareness of the principles of the document, Lumen Gentium.

Yves Congar Award

In recognition of extraordinary service, initiative, and creativity in support of pastoral planning

and consultative processes in the direction set forth by the Second Vatican Council, as well as for his sustained commitment to further the mission of CPPCD.


Recipients of the CPPCD Lumen Gentium Award include:

  • 2019 Marti Jewell D. Min. University of Dallas
  • 2018: Hosffman Ospino, Ph.D, Boston College School of Theology and Ministry
  • 2016:  Terry A. Ginther, Diocese of Trenton
  • 2015:  Most Reverend Frank J. Caggiano, Bishop of Bridgeport
  • 2014:  National Leadership Roundtable on Church Management
  • 2013:  Most Reverend Ronald P. Fabbro, C.S.B., Bishop of London, Ontario
  • 2012:  Most Reverend Edward U. Kmiec, Bishop of Buffalo
  • 2011:  Most Reverend Matthew H. Clark, Bishop of Rochester, NY
  • 2010:  Charles Zech, Center for the Study of Church Management, Villanova University, PA
  • 2009: Most Rev. John M. Smith, Bishop of Trenton, NJ
  • 2008: Jeff Rexhausen, Dr. Michael Cieslack, Dr. Mary Gauthier, and Dr. Robert Miller for

          their work on the 2003 National Study of Parish Reconfiguration.

  • 2007: The Office of Planning and Research of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Dr. Robert J.

          Miller, Director

  • 2006: Neil Meitler, the founder of Meitler Consulting of Hales Corners, Wisconsin
  • 2005: Dr. Mark Fisher of the Theology Department of St. John’s Seminary Camarillo, CA
  • 2004: Center for Applied Research in the Apostolate (CARA)
  • 2003: Rev. Robert Howes, MCRP
  • 2002: Siobhan Verbeek of the USCCB Office on Canonical Practices
  • 2001: The Leadership Conference of Women Religious
  • 2000: Bishop Kenneth Untener, Bishop of Saginaw, MI
  • 1999: Bishop Howard Hubbard, Bishop of Albany, NY
  • 1997: Brother Loughlan Sofield, S.T.
  • 1996: Joseph Cardinal Bernardin, Archbishop of Chicago
  • 1995: Richard S. Krivanka, Diocese of Cleveland
  • 1994: The Planning and Research Staff of the Archdiocese of Seattle
  • 1993: Archbishop William Donald Borders, Archbishop of Baltimore


Recipients of the CPPCD Yves Congar Award include:

  • 2019: Deacon Frank Berning, Director of Pastoral Planning, Diocese of Albany
  • 2018:  Ted Furlow, Diocese of San Bernardino
  • 2016:  Richard Krivanka, Diocese of Cleveland
  • 2015:  Dan R. Ebener, Diocese of Davenport
  • 2014:  Dr Maureen Gallagher, Reid Group
  • 2013:  Robert Choiniere, Diocese of Brooklyn
  • 2012:  Rita Kattner, Archdiocese of Chicago
  • 2011: Most Reverend Howard J. Hubbard, Bishop of Albany
  • 2010: Reverend James P. Lang, Diocese of Syracuse
  • 2009: Dr. David DeLambo
  • 2008: Dr. Mary Ann Gubish
  • 2007: Mark Mogilka, Diocese of Green Bay
  • 2006: Dr. Brian Reynolds
  • 2005: Sister Mary Montgomery, OP
  • 2004: Robert Burke
  • 2003: Sister Kathleen Turley, RSM
  • 2002: Rev. William Harms
  • 2001: Sister Sharon Euart, RSM
  • 2000: Sister Mary Kay Bailey, OP
  • 1999: Rev. Msgr. Phillip Murnion
  • 1998: Mr. Arthur X. Deegan, II
  • 1997: Sister Rosalie Murphy, SND
  • 1996: Eileen Tabert